Just before I started this task of thinking about my personal charges. I was approached by a company to create product shots for their website, this got me thinking about if I was to become a freelance photograph what would my daily rate be.

I have assisted a freelance wedding photographer in the past and I rely on his professional advice as a guide for my own work. I told him about the job that I had been approached for and asked him roughly what price he would charge for the job. He said that for any commercial work he would charge £450 for a rate day plus the image cost which would he suggested £30-£60 per final image. He also mentioned to me that I should make sure I think about copyright when approaching the client with my quote.

From this advice and information for a professional photographer, I then put together a price for myself as a freelance photographer of £450 as a set daily rate of eight hours, which works out as £56.25 per hour. This the photographer explains covers his cost of owning his own equipment which he had to invest in first, rent a second camera as a backup, all his insurances and general running costs, in order for him to make a profit on a hourly basis. However, because this photographer has his own in-house studio, this also covered the cost of electricity. However, because me just starting off as a freelance photographer I do not have my own studio yet so after I finish college I would then have to rent out a studio for any commercial work a client would want me to achieve which I would have to take into account in my daily rate which I would then have to increase by £150/200 as after research this is the rough cost of hiring a studio for the day.

However this also did not include my cost taking into account of petrol/travelling expenses. Although I decided that if I was to do this client work I would have the company courier the products to me and then also collect them again, to save me incurring more costs.

The other advice that I was told to think about was the image cost, which meant that for every final image they wanted they would have to pay for. The daily rate would include the studio time for me to actually shot the products. Then there would be a fee for each final image that the client would want to purchase, this would also include any editing costs if the image firstly needed to be edited and secondly obviously if the client wanted it to be edited.

I also then thought about copyright and how I was going to work it. After researching advice for this on the internet,  I decided to allow the client to use my images SOLELY for their website for a year starting from the date that I received the payment and invoice for the job. This yearly license was included in the £450 daily rate, however after this period they would then have to seek my permission to reuse the images and also pay me as the photographer a fee to be able to use them again solely on their website. Also if they wanted to use these images for any other purposes they would have to do the same, for which there would be a fee. The fee amount would depend on how and where they wanted to use my images. For example, if they wanted to use my image on a billboard for advertisement – I could charge them either a  lump sum of money or a daily fee for however many days the billboard was up. Or for example if they wanted to use my images in a brochure I could charge them for each copy of the brochure that they printed and use for advertising.

I am happy with the daily fee that I have quoted to the client and I am glad that I did this exercise as it did help me think about my charges if I was to become a freelance photographer after my time at college. I am glad that I have professional advice, as if I am struggling with anything queries that I may have, I know I can just ask. As I feel that this was a massive help to me as it gave me a starting point of what to charge clients. My boss is a good judge of character as he has seen my photography, he has seen how I work and knows what I am capable of and that I am about to finish college and maybe start my own career as a freelance photographer so I feel that his advice and costings that he recommended I charge would be spot on. 

This unit of work has been extremely helpful to me, as it has made me think deeply about being a freelance photographer and given me a very good idea of how much money I would need as a start up cost to set up my own business and become self employed. This assignment has been very useful and I feel that my knowledge is definitely a lot better now after the research I have done to complete this assignment. I am now aware of the costs, laws, insurances and other fundamental parts of running my own business and becoming a sole trader, if I was to become a freelance photographer.

